LIST's Prof Jens Kreisel flying the flag for Luxembourg at the European Academy of Sciences 

Published on 17/01/2018

As part of its R&D activities, a great number of experts from the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) are active members in various international associations or renowned academies and specialised networks. In this context, Prof. Jens Kreisel, director of the Materials Research and Technology (MRT) department, has recently been elected as fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (EurASc).

EURASC is a still young academy, but groups already 600 fellows among which 40 hold a Nobel Price or a Fields Medal. The purpose of EurASc is to play a complementary role to national academies and the European Academies' Science Advisory Council (EASAC). EurASc is a non-profit non-governmental, independent organization of distinguished scholars and engineers performing forefront-research and contributing to the development of advanced technologies, united by a commitment to promoting science and technology and their essential roles in fostering social and economic development.

EurASc aims to recognise and elect to its membership the best European scientists with a vision for Europe as a whole. Prof. Kreisel has been nominated and then elected fellow within the Division Materials Science of the EurASc ; he is to date the only Scientist in Luxembourg to have received this nomination. Through this fellowship, Prof. Kreisel will contribute to EurASc’s main mission of strengthening European science and scientific cooperation, including technological application and social development. By this, Prof. Kreisel will be an ambassador of Luxembourg in general, and LIST and MRT in particular.

Share this page:


Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST)

5, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux
L-4362 Esch-sur-Alzette

Send an e-mail