Coronastep

Monitoring the evolution of Covid-19 in wastewater

Researchers at the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) are working tirelessly to provide a detailed view of the evolution of the Covid-19 pandemic by tracking the presence of the coronavirus in the Grand Duchy's wastewater. Using a highly sensitive methodology, LIST’s team of microbiologists identifies where, when and in what concentration the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus is present. Complementary to the large-scale testing, these near real-time results are delivered weekly to the government for an informed decision.

WHO ARE THE SCIENTISTS BEHIND THIS PROJECT?

From the collection of samples to the analysis and interpretation of results in the laboratory, the Coronastep project team led by Leslie Ogorzaly and Henry-Michel Cauchie is using its expertise in environmental microbiology and hydrology to fight the Covid-19 pandemic.

From left to right: Henry-Michel Cauchie, Leslie Ogorzaly, Cécile Walczak, Delphine Collard, Christian Penny

WHAT ARE THE WASTEWATER ANALYSES?

In collaboration with the Administration de la gestion de l'Eau (Water Management Administration) and the purification syndicates, LIST researchers collect samples of wastewater from each strategic purification plant in Luxembourg. They then concentrate and analyse these samples in the laboratory, in particular by carrying out a Polymerase Chain Reaction, better known as PCR.  This process, identical to that used for large-scale tests, is highly sensitive and reliable. It enables the virus to be detected in minute concentrations by recognising fragments of its genetic identity card.

REPORTS ON THE MONITORING OF CORONAVIRUS IN WASTEWATER

Latest report of the CORONASTEP Team

Past reports

NATIONAL MOBILISATION

An integral part of the COVID-19 Task Force of the Research Luxembourg network, CORONASTEP is a research project supported by the National Research Fund through its FNR COVID-19 call. Through this project, the LIST researchers work in close collaboration with the Administration de la Gestion de l’Eau (AGE), the Ministry of Health, the Directorate of Health, the Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH), the Laboratoire national de santé (LNS) and the University of Luxembourg (LCSB).

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Can't find an answer to your question? Contact us at communication@list.lu

When are the latest results of the study published?

The weekly or even bi-weekly results of the analyses of the presence of coronavirus in wastewater are first communicated to the Government and published on this page within 24 to 48 hours. The conclusions of these analyses are also included in a global report of the actors in the fight against the pandemic and published every Wednesday on the Ministry of Health website.

How to understand these graphs?

Graphs show the evolution of the number of positive cases in parallel with the number of copies of the genetic material of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus found in Luxembourg over time. It is therefore possible to see that the trends of the two curves are relatively similar. However, no correlation can be made to date: the curve of coronavirus in wastewater does not indicate the estimated number of positive cases. LIST researchers are currently working with mathematicians and modellers to establish how many people are infected based on the results found in wastewater.

Can these analyses predict the evolution of the pandemic in Luxembourg?

The high sensitivity and reliability of the methodology developed by LIST researchers makes it possible to follow the evolution of the presence of the coronavirus in wastewater in almost real time. In comparison and complementarity of clinical tests, this wastewater monitoring provides earlier information - approximately 24 to 48 hours - on the evolution of the virus circulation throughout the country but is not intended to provide predictions. However, this methodology has made it possible to go back in time and find the first traces of SARS-CoV-2 on Luxembourg soil as early as February, thanks to samples of wastewater dating from that time.

Where did the idea of monitoring the evolution of the pandemic through wastewater come from?

This respiratory tropism virus is different from other viruses known until now. LIST researchers therefore did not expect that it would be possible to detect it in the faeces. As soon as they became aware of it at the beginning of 2020, the CORONASTEP team mobilised to be able to detect and monitor it in Luxembourg's wastewater.

LIST has a strong experience in monitoring the spread of viruses within wastewater. Researchers already have adequate methodologies and protocols for monitoring gastroenteritis viruses, for example.

Learn more

Share this page:

Coronastep

Suivi de l’évolution de la Covid-19 dans les eaux usées

Les chercheurs du Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) travaillent sans relâche pour fournir une vue détaillée de l’évolution de la pandémie Covid-19 en traquant la présence du coronavirus dans les eaux usées du Grand-Duché. Grâce à une méthodologie très sensible, l’équipe de microbiologistes du LIST identifie où, quand, et en quelle concentration le coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 est présent. Complémentaires aux tests cliniques à grande-échelle, ces résultats en temps quasi-réel sont délivrés chaque semaine au gouvernement pour une prise de décision éclairée.

QUI SONT LES SCIENTIFIQUES DERRIère ce projet ?

De la collecte d’échantillons à l’analyse et l’interprétation des résultats en laboratoire, l’équipe du projet Coronastep dirigée par Henry-Michel Cauchie et coordonnée par Leslie Ogorzaly met à profit son expertise en microbiologie environnementale et hydrologie pour lutter contre la pandémie Covid-19.

De gauche à droite : Henry-Michel Cauchie, Leslie Ogorzaly, Cécile Walczak, Delphine Collard, Christian Penny

EN QUOI CONSISTENT LES ANALYSES DES EAUX USées?

En collaboration avec l’Administration de la gestion de l’Eau et les syndicats d’épuration, les chercheurs du LIST collectent des échantillons d’eaux usées de chaque station d’épuration stratégique du Luxembourg de manière hebdomadaire. Par la suite, ils concentrent et analysent en laboratoire lesdits échantillons en procédant notamment à une Réaction de Polymérisation en Chaîne, plus connue sous le nom de PCR.  Ce procédé, identique à celui utilisé pour les tests à grande-échelle, est doté d’une grande sensibilité et fiabilité. Il permet ainsi de détecter le virus dans d’infimes concentrations en reconnaissant des fragments de sa carte d’identité génétique qui lui sont propres.

VISUALISER LES RAPPORTS DE CORONASTEP

Dernier rapport de l'équipe CORONASTEP

Rapports précédents

UNE MOBILISATION à l'échelle nationale

Partie intégrante de la Task Force COVID-19 du réseau Research Luxembourg, CORONASTEP est un projet de recherche soutenu par le Fonds National de la Recherche à travers son appel FNR COVID-19. A travers ce projet, les chercheurs du LIST travaillent en étroite collaboration avec l’Administration de la Gestion de l’Eau (AGE), le Ministère de la Santé, la Direction de la Santé, le Luxembourg Institute of Health (LIH), le Laboratoire national de santé (LNS) ainsi que l’Université du Luxembourg (LCSB).

FOIRE AUX QUESTIONS

Vous ne trouvez pas de réponses à votre question ? Contactez-nous à communication@list.lu

Quand les derniers résultats de l’étude sont-ils publiés ?

Les résultats hebdomadaires voire bi-hebdomadaires issus des analyses de la présence du coronavirus dans les eaux usées sont tout d’abord communiqués au Gouvernement et publiés sur cette page dans les 24h à 48h suivantes. Les conclusions de ces analyses sont également incluses dans un rapport global des acteurs la lutte contre la pandémie et publiées chaque mercredi sur le site du Ministère de la Santé.

Comment lire les graphiques des rapports ?

Le graphique permet d’observer l’évolution du nombre de cas positifs en parallèle du nombre de copies du matériel génétique du coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 retrouvé au Luxembourg au cours du temps. Il est donc possible de constater que les tendances des deux courbes sont relativement similaires. Cependant, aucune corrélation ne peut être faite à ce jour : la courbe du coronavirus dans les eaux usées n’indique pas le nombre estimé de cas positifs. Les chercheurs du LIST travaillent actuellement avec des mathématiciens et modélisateurs afin de pouvoir établir combien de personnes sont infectées par la COVID-19 sur base des résultats obtenus dans les eaux usées.

Est-ce que ces analyses peuvent prédire l’évolution de la pandémie au Luxembourg ?

La forte sensibilité et fiabilité de la méthodologie mise au point par les chercheurs du LIST permet de suivre en temps quasi-réel l’évolution de la présence du coronavirus dans les eaux usées. En comparaison et complémentarité des tests cliniques, ce suivi donne des informations plus précoces – environ 24 à 48h - sur l’évolution de la circulation du virus à travers le pays, mais n’a pas pour vocation de fournir des prédictions. En revanche, cette méthodologie a permis de remonter le temps et de trouver les premières traces du SARS-CoV-2 sur le sol luxembourgeois dès février, grâce à des échantillons des eaux usées datant de cette époque.

D’où est venue l’idée de suivre le coronavirus à travers les eaux usée ?

Ce virus au tropisme respiratoire est différent des autres virus connus jusqu’alors. Les chercheurs du LIST ne s’attendaient donc pas à ce qu’une détection de ce dernier soit possible dans les selles. Dès qu’ils en ont eu connaissance au début de l’année 2020, l’équipe de CORONASTEP s’est mobilisée pour pouvoir le détecter et le suivre dans les eaux usées luxembourgeoises.

Le LIST bénéficie d’une grande expérience en matière de suivi de la propagation des virus au sein des eaux usées. Les chercheurs ont d’ores et déjà des méthodologies et protocoles adéquats pour la surveillance des virus de gastroentérite par exemple.

En savoir plus

Partager cette page :